West Michigan Airport Authority Minutes January 13, 2025

CTO: Meeting was called to order by Chair Charles Murray at 4 pm (1600)

Roll call: The following members answered the roll call: Blanton, Brandsen, Byrd, Dannenberg, Gruppen, Hoekwater, Shea, and Zeerip. Chair Murray introduced Ottawa County's ex-officio representative Ben Fogg. Authority staff Storey and Sawyer, Attorney Rachel Hillegonds, WMAA legal counsel, and Leanne Schaeffer, Boileau Communications, Kevin Ranke, IT-City of Holland, were also present.

Public Comment: Rick Thompson, 4 One Air LLC, and Jeff Vos, Laketown Township, addressed the board.

Agenda: Mr. Dannenberg moved, seconded by Byrd, to approve the agenda as stated. Motion passed by voice vote.

Minutes: Mr. Dannenberg moved, seconded by Byrd, to approve the minutes of the December 9, 2024, meeting. Motion passed by voice vote.

Consent Agenda; Chair Murray announced the five items of the consent agenda. Moved by Mr. Dannenberg, seconded by Byrd, to approve the consent agenda. Motion passed voice vote.

Unfinished Business:

- A. Status of 4 One Air Franchise: Treasurer McCammon announced the outstanding balances were paid in full. A proposal of the company filed with board legal counsel was distributed to board members for their information and discernment. Member Byrd requested a survey of flight schools be conducted by the interim director.
- **B.** Beta charging point project: Storey reviewed the proposed site plan from Beta Technologies to install an aircraft charging station on the WMRA apron. Ms. Hoekwater noted during the Beta October site visit that installing a vehicle charging station was also discussed but not included on the site plan. Storey asked to inquire feasibility and report findings before board' February meeting at which the board may act.
- **C.** Affirmation of Permanent Board Members Search Committee Chair Murray advised that after consulting with legal counsel, since the board acted on

December 9 naming Ms. Gruppen, Mr. Dannenberg and Mr. Brandsen to the search committee, no further action needed.

D. Airport Director Search Committee – Ms. Blanton, chair of the committee, reported fourteen applications were received when applications closed in mid-December. The city of Holland is assisting in screening the applicants with a meeting scheduled for Friday next. Process: subcommittee will discern who are top candidates. Blanton proposed a board vote on the final two.

8. New Business:

A. Rules of the Airport Authority Board

Dannenberg moved approval, Brandsen seconded. Gruppen thanked chairs for all his time devoted towards developing the proposed rules. Byrd asked how the rules could change; the chair advised by majority vote of the board. Fogg expressed concern about sections 6.1 and 6.2. Motion passed by unanimous voice vote.

B. Finance

Treasurer McCammon review the financial performance of the authority through December 31, 2024. Advised that \$266,945 was now available to transfer to the capital budget, but recommended waiting until new director selected to do budget amendment. Suggested current strategic finance plans are obsolete; new long-term plans should be developed. Moved by Dannenberg, seconded by Hoekwater to approve finance reports. Motion passed unanimous voice vote.

C. Airport Advisory Group – Definition of purpose and intent

Chair Murray reviewed the origination of discussion. It is a group and not a board committee. Airport advisory group was formed in April. The purpose was to posit questions to the group for feedback. He reported group helped advise on new snowplow. The group appears to have changed its purpose and became directive. The chair suggested the group be suspended to discern its true purpose. Board engaged in discussion. Mr. Shea moved to continue advisory group as conceived, seconded by Hoekwater. Roll call vote: NO; Brandsen, Byrd, Dannenberg, Gruppen, Murray, Zeerip; YES: Blanton, Hoekwater, Shea. Motion fails.

Dannenberg moved to pause the airport advisory group until permanent director is hired; seconded by Byrd. Motion passed on voice vote, 8-1.

Board recessed at 5:48 (1748); Ms. Zeerip announced her departure. Board reconvened at 5:53 pm (1753)

D. North-South Runway subcommittee members

Murray recounted the creation of the subcommittee reflecting the discussions at the two previous board meetings. Chair Murray recommended appointment of Kevin Phillips, Paul Sachs, Joseph Murray, Charles Murray, and Linda Howell. Byrd suggested adding Ben Fogg and Jeff Vos. Vos said he would be helpful because of AOPA affiliation. Blanton moved approval of the suggested five members listed on the agenda plus Mr. Vos, supported by Gruppen. Motion passes, voice vote, one no.

E. Election of Officers - term ending January 31, 2026

Chair- Murray, nominated by Dannenberg, seconded by Gruppen. Murray chair election pause until conclusion of election of other officers. Blanton moved to delay chair election; seconded by Shea. Motion passes on voice.

Treasurer-Blanton nominated Lynn, seconded by Murray. Motion passes on voice vote.

Secretary – Blanton nominated Dannenberg; seconded by Murray. Fogg nominated Hoekwater, seconded by Shea. Hoekwater declined the nomination. Dannenberg elected by voice vote.

Vice-Chair – Dannenberg nominated Gruppen, supported by Blanton. Motion passed on voice vote.

Chair – The board returned to the election of a chair. Mr. Dannenberg polled the board: Murray unanimously elected. Prior to the election, Mr. Murray announced his abstention from the vote.

`9 Airport Manager Communications

Interim Manager Storey distributed a memo from Spark Aero LLC expressing interest in locating a seaplane charter service at WMRA. Also, said he sent his board report to the board by email earlier in the day and had paper copies available. Stated he received inquiries concerning the availability of hanger locations. Reported AvFlight line crew been busy clearing runway, taxiway, and aprons due to weather, Reported the birth of second child for AvFlight G.M. VandenBrand.

10. Updates from the Board: none

Adjourn; Dannenberg moved adjournment; Byrd seconded. Passed voice vote.
6:25 pm (1825).